Jewish Observances
· The Sabbath—Signifies rest. Observed every seventh day.

· Feast of the New Moon—Marked the completion of the Lunar month.

· Sabbatical Month—The Seventh of the Sacred Year, but the first of the Civil.

· Feast of Trumpets—New Year's Day. Ushered in by blowing of trumpets.

· Sabbatical Year—Each seventh day and month and year were holy. The land rested and creditors and slaves were released.

· Year of Jubilee—Every fiftieth year.

· The Passover—Lasted for seven days, from the 14th to 21st of Nisan. A memorial of the Nation's birth and typical of Christ.

· Pentecost, or Feast of Weeks—A supplement to the Passover, lasting one day.

· Feast of Tabernacles—A harvest Home, or Thanksgiving time, lasting seven days.

· Day of Atonement—A day of humiliation and fasting. Observed five days before the Feast of Tabernacles.

· Feast of Purim—An annual feast to commemorate the preservation of the Jews in Persia.

· Feast of Dedication—A rededication of the Temple after the expulsion of the Syrians by Judas Maccabaeus.
· Sacrificial Offerings
· The Burnt Offering
  · The Drink Offering
· The Meat Offering
· The Peace Offering
· The Sin Offering
· Promiscuous Oblations
· The Trespass Offering

Cite This Page:

Nevin, Alfred, Ed., et al. "Jewish Observances," The Parallel Bible. Blue Letter Bible. 1 Jul 2002. .


Search the Bible

How to use the Verse Range option

Range Option

Search the BLB

Click for Help with this tool

Click for Help with this tool

Featured Items

Today's Items:
Items of Interest: